The Unauthorized Investigator's Guide to
The Church of JESUS CHRIST of Latter-day Saints

Lesson 2

Kingdoms of Glory

The Missionaries Will Teach...

Throughout our lives, we make choices between good and evil.  Since God will reward each of us according to the deeds we do, it follows that there will be different kingdoms of glory to which Christ will assign us after the day of judgment.

The highest level of glory is called the Celestial Kingdom.  It is for people who have faith in Christ, repent of their sins, are baptized by proper authority into the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, honor and obey their covenants, and endure to the end.  These people will be cleansed and sanctified through the atonement of Christ.  They will live in God's presence, will be like him, and will receive a fullness of joy.  They will live forever with the members of their family who qualify.  The scriptures compare this to the glory of the sun.

The second level of glory is called the Terrestrial Kingdom.  It is where people are rewarded who leave honorable lives, but don't accept the fullness of the gospel of Jesus Christ.  This glory is compared to the glory of the moon.

The lowest level of glory is called the Telestial Kingdom.  It is for people continue in their sins and don't repent in this life.  It is compared to the glory of the stars. 


To me, that is hell. A member of the church was asked if he wanted to live in the Celestial Kingdom.  He answered no.  This is why.

Back Up Next

If you have a question or would like to discuss these topics, I suggest that you go to a Mormon-related bulletin board (here are some recommendations). If you'd like to contact me with comments or feedback, you may send an email to